—Possession or use of marijuana by anyone under the age of 21.
—Marijuana gifting schemes, for example, giving away marijuana with the purchase of another item.
WHAT COMES NEXT:
—Sharing of up to one ounce in private, by adults, but no payment or other financial compensation is allowed.
—Having an open container of marijuana in a vehicle while it is being operated.
The Virginia Apartment Management Association is warning renters to proceed with caution. VAMA Executive Director Patrick McCloud said some leases have language banning substances considered illegal under state and federal law. He said that could cause problems since Congress has yet to address marijuana prohibition nationally. McCloud said tenants should check with management before getting started with home cultivation.
“You have to have control over heat and humidity, especially in Virginia,” Anderson said. “If you’re comfortable in an environment as a human, the plants are going to be comfortable as well.”
Now, the law has changed and Netzel is among those hoping to grow at home as a cheaper alternative. Currently, she said she pays about $800 per month to use cannabis for her condition, not including the cost of periodically renewing her medical card recommendation.
“People have to read the fine print”
That’s an area the Joint Legislative Audit and Review Commission (JLARC) has asked lawmakers to clarify in the future.
While he can’t speak for all departments, Katz said, in Chesterfield, police are not going to be asking where people got their seeds.
“Everything you need…except the seeds”
“The most immediate option for retail sales is to do so through the existing medical operators. This is what most states that have enacted adult use legalization do,” Pedini said. “Virginia still has a chance to go down that path but that wasn’t something that was enacted this year.”
Anderson said four plants, if grown properly, can produce a years-worth of marijuana.
C. A person shall not manufacture marijuana concentrate from home-cultivated marijuana. The owner of a property or parcel or tract of land may not intentionally or knowingly allow another person to manufacture marijuana concentrate from home-cultivated marijuana within or on that property or land.
2. For possession of more than 10 but no more than 49 marijuana plants, a Class 1 misdemeanor;
2. Take precautions to prevent unauthorized access by persons younger than 21 years of age; and
§ 4.1-1101. Home cultivation of marijuana for personal use; penalties.
2021, Sp. Sess. I, cc. 550, 551.
3. Attach to each marijuana plant a legible tag that includes the person’s name, driver’s license or identification number, and a notation that the marijuana plant is being grown for personal use as authorized under this section.
B. A person who cultivates marijuana for personal use pursuant to this section shall:
4. For possession of more than 100 marijuana plants, a felony punishable by a term of imprisonment of not less than one year nor more than 10 years and a fine of not more than $250,000, or both.