“Plant-touching” is industry lingo that refers to a business that, you guessed it, actually touches the marijuana plant. In Michigan, that refers to cannabis cultivation, dispensaries, processors , safety testing labs, secure transporters, and microbusinesses. We will also include cannabis lounges and cannabis events in this category due to the fact that Michigan requires them to obtain an MRTMA license.
Don’t be afraid of this sort of competition, just be prepared. The market is big enough for there to be numerous profitable and successful companies in your niche, whether that’s cultivation, branded products, or professional services. The big winners are not always the ones who are first to market. Oftentimes, the most successful companies are defined by their ability to overcome the inevitable obstacles that operating in the cannabis space can present. We will go through several common obstacles faced by cannabis businesses below.
Step 8: Overcoming Obstacles on Your Road to Success
You can also purchase property with a municipal cannabis license or existing cannabis business, or obtain your own license. Generally, properties that already have licenses attached garner a premium compared to properties that are merely eligible for licensing, and both garner a substantial premium when compared to properties that are not eligible for cannabis licensure. For properties that do not already come with a license, you should be able to “tie up” the property with a purchase agreement or contingent lease while you obtain your municipal license. Otherwise, you could end up paying a premium for a property that you cannot use for your business.
The cultivation of more than 200 plants for personal use is a misdemeanor. A term of imprisonment may be imposed if “the violation was habitual, willfull, and for a commercial purpose or the violation involved violence.”
An adult may grow up to 12 marijuana plants at the adult’s residence for personal use.
In Ann Arbor, the penalty for being caught with marijuana is a $25 fine for the first offense, $50 for the second, and $100 for the third offense. Marijuana is not decriminalized on the University of Michigan’s campus.
The cultivation of 25 – 200 plants for personal use is a misdemeanor. A term of imprisonment may be imposed if “the violation was habitual, willfull, and for a commercial purpose or the violation involved violence.”
The state allows conditional release or alternative or diversion sentencing for people facing their first prosecutions. Usually, conditional release lets a person opt for probation rather than trial. After successfully completing probation, the individual’s criminal record does not reflect the charge.
Any conviction will result in a driver’s license suspension for 6 months.
Within a residence, an adult may possess up to 10 ounces of marijuana and any marijuana produced by marijuana cultivated on the premises.