While local laws can prohibit personal-use gardens, they can’t ban indoor cultivation if it’s “fully enclosed and secure.” Some cities or counties may require a permit to grow cannabis.
Recreational user grow limit: Up to 6 plants per household
Cannabis grown at home should only be for personal use. Under the law, you’re allowed to give a certain amount to a qualifying patient or adult. However, selling your cannabis, especially to a minor, can result in serious criminal charges.
Marijuana Cultivation Penalties
Caregiver grow limit: Up to 500 sq. ft. grow area per residence
Tenants are subject to landlord restrictions. An owner has the right to prohibit cannabis cultivation on the premises. They can also ban cannabis smoking on the property. Landlords may prohibit cannabis cultivation due to the smell, smoke, and intended property modifications.
Local Government Restrictions
Under Proposition 215, qualified patients and caregivers can legally grow medical cannabis for personal use with a recommendation from a licensed physician. As long as you’re growing for personal use, you’re legally allowed to grow cannabis in an area that’s 100 square feet.
Violations of these rules are punished with a fine of up to $250.
You can report an illegal business anonymously online at cannabis.ca.gov
Recreational cannabis sales began in January 2018, and while many have played by the rules, the illegal growth and sale of the plant continues to undermine those following the rules.
Since its establishment in 1983, the Campaign Against Marijuana Planting has had more than 110 law enforcement agencies involved, making it one of the largest law enforcement task forces in the U.S.
Marijuana is legal for adults to use in 18 states and Washington, D.C. Medical marijuana is legal in 37.Most recently, New Mexico, Virginia and Connecticut legalized recreational cannabis.
Illegal plants seized in California by year
Licensed to grow, manufacture and sell
Cannabis status by state
More than 1.11 million illegal plants were seized in 2020.
State license issuance began in 2018, but data isn’t available for that initial year because they were issued as temporary licenses. Data sets begin in 2019, when 12-month annual and provisional licenses began to be issued, using the online licensing systems. Licenses remain active for one year, at which point they can be renewed for an additional 12 months. This list displays counts of when the licenses were first issued, but not each time one was renewed.
That would make it the eighth most valued commodity in California agriculture.