Posted on

how much weed can you grow in california

How much weed can you grow in california

State license issuance began in 2018, but data isn’t available for that initial year because they were issued as temporary licenses. Data sets begin in 2019, when 12-month annual and provisional licenses began to be issued, using the online licensing systems. Licenses remain active for one year, at which point they can be renewed for an additional 12 months. This list displays counts of when the licenses were first issued, but not each time one was renewed.

Since its establishment in 1983, the Campaign Against Marijuana Planting has had more than 110 law enforcement agencies involved, making it one of the largest law enforcement task forces in the U.S.

More than 1.11 million illegal plants were seized in 2020.

Marijuana is legal for adults to use in 18 states and Washington, D.C. Medical marijuana is legal in 37.Most recently, New Mexico, Virginia and Connecticut legalized recreational cannabis.

Share this:

Illegal plants seized in California by year

How much weed can you grow in california

Not all municipal codes are up-to-date. Check with your city or county’s council or board for the most recent ordinances.

In spite of the medical and recreational cannabis laws in the state , local governments can restrict or ban cannabis cultivation within their jurisdiction under local nuisance laws.

Illegal sale, furnishing, administering, giving away, transporting for sale, or importing into the state is also a misdemeanor. Felony charges are reserved for repeat and violent offenders, or those who sell to minors.

Marijuana Cultivation Penalties

Here’s a breakdown of the number of marijuana plants you can grow in the state and local restrictions.

For caregivers, the grow area limit is 500 square feet. Caregivers are able to assist up to 5 patients.

Landlord Restrictions

Growers between the ages of 18 and 20 that legally grow 6 plants or less can receive a $100 fine. Growing more than 6 plants is a misdemeanor punishable by $500 and/or 6 months in jail. Repeat offenders with violent or serious prior convictions (including sale to minors under 18) can get charged with a felony.

Under the Adult Use of Marijuana Act (AUMA), adults over 21 years of age may grow up to 6 cannabis plants. The law limits the number of plants grown per residence to 6. Growing more than this amount can result in criminal penalties.

How much weed can you grow in california

Our California criminal defense attorneys will answer the following key questions in this article:

2.2. Drug treatment

It is an infraction under this law if someone aged 18-20 grows weed. The crime is punishable by a maximum fine of $100. 5

4. Does a conviction affect gun rights?

This means that any charges in the case could get reduced or even dismissed.