In all reality, the process of applying for a grower’s license begins with understanding whether or not the state you reside in even permits commercial cultivation licenses. Not all medical marijuana states are accepting applications either, so it is important to read up on the laws where you live and see if the timing is right for your application to await approval. The acceptance of applications on a state-by-state basis is always changing, so contact your commissioner directly for the most accurate information.
By setting up a small-scale operation that meets the legal criteria for what is permitted within your state of residence, you can achieve the weed you want and start collecting savings in the long run.
Hawaii (medical only): No more than 7 ounces in possession. Up to 7 plants total for personal cultivation (between patient and caregiver).
Montana (medical only): Up to 1 ounce in possession. No more than 4 mature plants and 12 seedlings permitted for personal cultivation.
For Those Who Want a Grower’s License for Medical Marijuana
Maine (for medical and 21+): Anyone 21+ or a qualifying patient can possess no more than 2.5 ounces. 12 immature plants and 6 mature plants may be grown by Maine residents only.
Most states that recognize medical marijuana also approve a certain quantity of plants that can be cultivated for personal use. These are small scale grows and do not require any licensing other than a valid medical marijuana card and some knowledge about the specific laws and regulations in your state. This type of cultivation cannot be executed for profit since your product cannot be sold. There are sometimes loopholes in the laws that state, for example, that cannabis can be gifted or donated to another cardholder, but these acts sit in somewhat of a legal grey area.
The process of obtaining a grower’s license for medical marijuana is no easy task, but ultimately if you envision yourself opening a medical cannabis related operation and are willing to put in the hard work, then it is worth submitting an application.
Why Should You Grow Medical Marijuana for Personal Use?
Many individuals are not aware that, even if you do not apply for a grower’s license, some states allow the cultivation of herb for personal use, so long as there is no intent to sell or distribute the product in any manner. Decide what option is right for you, whether it be simply growing a small number of plants at your home, or turning cannabis into a full-blown business.
Keep reading to discover how to get a grower’s license for medical marijuana with our general guide…
Renewal Fee: $75,000 (Non-Refundable)
Registration Fee: $75,000 (Non-Refundable)
To protect the health and safety of the public and our employees, DCP has limited on-site staffing at 450 Columbus Blvd. While mail and phone calls will be processed as quickly as possible, we recommend using our online services, or sending an email to the appropriate division/person instead. We apologize for any inconvenience.
Connecticut State Department of Consumer Protection
COVID-19: Get the latest updates on COVID-19 at ct.gov/coronavirus. Find a vaccination site near you at ct.gov/covidvaccine.
Important Notice to All Persons Providing Material in Support of License Applicants
Medical Marijuana Producer License
Initial Application Fee: $25,000 (Non-Refundable)
All materials that are in support of a potential applicant for a Medical Marijuana Producer or Dispensary Facility License must comply with all requirements set forth in the Request for Applications. The Department has established an application process that is transparent, unbiased, and follows a set process. Supportive material may only be submitted with the application. Applications and supporting material must be hand-delivered in accordance with the instructions in the Request for Applications, together with a $25,000 application fee. Any material received outside the application process will not be considered part of the application. Failure to abide by the RFA process could result in disqualification of an applicant.
Recommended safety and security measures for production, storage and disposal.
Information on getting an interim supply of cannabis and starting materials once you have registered.
Guidelines for registering to produce a limited amount of cannabis for yourself.
How much cannabis you can grow and store based on the regulations and your medical document.
Safety and security
Requirements for possessing, storing and producing cannabis products.
Application for production of cannabis for your own medical purposes, facts about registration and safety considerations.
About getting your cannabis tested by a licensed dealer. How to send your product for testing.
Cannabis starting materials and interim supply
An example of the document needed from your health care practitioner to purchase from licensed producers.