Posted on

maine laws growing weed

Where can I find statistical information on the medical program?

Adults 21 years of age or older can possess up to 2.5 ounces of a combination of marijuana, marijuana concentrate and marijuana products, including no more than 5 grams of marijuana concentrate.

Second, make sure it’s locked up. An adult who chooses to grow their own plants must take reasonable precautions to prevent unauthorized access by individuals under the age of 21.

Patients

Maine is home to both a medical marijuana program and an adult use industry. The medical program serves patients, while Maine’s adult use industry services consumers 21 years of age and older. Adult use marijuana and medical marijuana may not be dispensed from the same facility. Unless they have changed their license type or have a separate retail facility, existing caregiver retail stores and medical marijuana dispensaries are limited to selling marijuana and marijuana products to patients with valid medical marijuana credentials in their possession.

Finally, make sure the ownership of the plants is clear to law enforcement that may come across them. If you’re growing marijuana for personal use, the plant(s) must be tagged with a legible label that includes your name, driver’s license or state identification card number, and a notation that the plant(s) are being grown as authorized by law.

Medical Use

How much marijuana can I possess?

See: 28-B M.R.S. §1501(2)(A)

Maine laws growing weed

Click here to view the details of Maine’s laws. Additional information obtained from NORML’s website.

Vast Maine, with its western mountains, acres of pine forests, craggy coastline of islands and inlets, is larger than all the other New England states combined. The character of the various regions determines the nature of your Maine vacation. People flock to the state’s beautiful beaches and rocky coast and stoic lighthouses, from the New Hampshire border up to the state’s remote “toe” in New Brunswick, Canada. The central and western parts of the state are favorites for people who love winter and snow sports. Smoking or ingesting some cannabis – legal for adults in Maine – enhances the beauty of the place. Sunrise over the Atlantic has never looked quite so magnificent.

Like the state in general, the style of lodgings cover a big spectrum. Imagine yourself a little relaxed and pleasure-oriented from a toke of marijuana, arriving at your lodging: an old sea captain’s house converted into an art-filled B&B, or a suite in luxury resort overlooking a pool and deck and a vast stretch of beach, or a cozy cabin deep in the forest. All of these options and others – convenient to dining, shopping live theater, galleries, or city parks – are easy to find (and hard to leave at vacation’s end) in Maine.

Possession:

Quick summary of law: Adults over age 21 may possess up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana and may possess marijuana paraphernalia. Recreational users may consume cannabis only in a private residence or on private property, never in public places. Use of marijuana in a public place may result in a civil fine of up to $100 under Maine state law. Driving under the influence of marijuana is against the law, similar to driving under the influence of alcohol. See more on the laws for more details and links for Maine marijuana laws.

If you’re even thinking of visiting Maine, you are likely to know about its most famous food: lobster. Served in a roll or in a lobster bake dinner, alongside clam chowder, boiled potatoes, and corn on the cob, even Maine lobster can be enhanced with a toke or a tidbit of marijuana in advance. Maine is also known for its blueberries, served everywhere in season and sold in farm stands along the road sides in summer. Many great restaurants – elegant or basic – are scattered across the towns of Maine; its major seacoast city and capital, Portland, has become well-known in recent decades for its skilled chefs and creative restaurateurs.

Sightseeing

Sightseeing in Maine can cover a lot of variety. With a boost from your favorite form of marijuana you can take in the pleasures of elegant downtown Portland and its historic seaport district, stroll the walks of a rich tidal marsh, paddle a kayak or stretch out on a beach, or walk up hills to overlooks above Bar Harbor or even the Bay of Fundy, adjacent to Canada. In winter, ski areas provide plenty of pleasure for families, even off the slopes. In ski towns, you can find excellent dining, shopping, and winter luxuries, like a horse-drawn sleigh ride.

You may not smoke pot in public places. This applies even to users of medical marijuana. Do not smoke marijuana anyplace that smoking tobacco is prohibited. Use of marijuana in public will result in a $100 civil infraction. For now, the safest option is consume it only at home or on private property.

Importing any amount of Hashish into Maine from another state or country is a Class D crime subject to 1 year’s imprisonment and a fine not exceeding $2000.

An adult may cultivate up to 3 flowering marijuana plants, 12 immature plants and unlimited seedlings. An adult may possess all of the marijuana produced by the plants.

An adult may cultivate up to 3 flowering marijuana plants, 12 immature plants and unlimited seedlings. An adult may possess all of the marijuana produced by the plants.

Using a motor vehicle to sell scheduled drugs in Maine may result in a driver’s license being revoked for up to five years.

Legalization

Cultivation of 100-499 plants is a Class C crime punishable by a maximum sentence of five years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $5,000.

Sale of 20 lbs. or more to a minor or within 1,000 feet of a school or school bus or combined with a prior conviction for a similar crime, use of a firearm or use of a minor is a Class A crime punishable by a maximum sentence of 30 years imprisonment with a four year mandatory minimum term of imprisonment and a $50,000 fine.

An adult may possess up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana or up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana and marijuana concentrate including no more than 5 grams of marijuana concentrate.

Hash & Concentrates

Selling any amount of Hashish while within 1000 feet from a school or other designated safe zone is a Class B crime, subject to 10 years incarceration with a two year mandatory minimum term of imprisonment and a fine of no more than $20,000.

Possession of between 1-20 lbs. is a Class C crime punishable by a maximum sentence of five years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $5,000.