Penalties for marijuana possession offenses vary from misdemeanors to felonies, depending on the amount of marijuana allegedly in possession at the time the individual is arrested. For cultivation, the charges will apply for the total weight of all plants that are found. The penalties vary as described below.
A second degree felony may apply for between 50 pounds and 2,000 pounds of marijuana. A conviction can result in two to 10 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
Cultivation Covered by Texas Laws on Marijuana Possession
Which is how the state criminalizes cultivation without actually writing a specific law for it. So, what does it mean to be charged with marijuana possession in our state?
Our attorneys will fight hard against the allegations you face and help you find the best outcome possible. We will study all of the evidence against you and look for the strongest defenses to the charges.
In Texas, Marijuana Cultivation Penalties Mirror Possession Consequences
As you can see, the penalties for cultivating even a small amount of marijuana in Texas can be serious. If you are charged with possession of many plants, a conviction can result in years of prison time. That’s why it’s essential to contact a knowledgeable Texas drug crimes lawyer as soon as charges are filed against you.
Even though the qualifying conditions for medical cannabis in Texas are very restrictive, the age limit is not. There is no age limit for prescription of medical cannabis in Texas, although patients under 18 need a legal guardian. In addition, only patients and their designated primary caregivers can purchase medical marijuana from licensed dispensaries, and the maximum amount you can get from these dispensaries varies based on the physician’s recommended dosage.
The Lone Star State is not budging to “peer pressure” from other states as its marijuana law remains one of the harshest in the USA. Unlike some states such as Alaska, Arizona, Oklahoma, and Missouri where patients can grow their medical marijuana, growing cannabis in Texas remains illegal. The state laws on possession of marijuana are so stringent, and if you are a resident of the state, you don’t want to be on the wrong side of this law. If you need a complete understanding of the marijuana laws of Texas, we’ve got you fully covered with this piece.
Texas has strict laws for those caught growing marijuana in the state. Any individual or business caught cultivating, or growing marijuana in Texas will be charged for the criminal possession of marijuana plants. The applicable penalties vary from misdemeanors to felonies. For growing marijuana in Texas, the charges apply based on the total weight of all plants found:
Medical Marijuana Laws in Texas
Getting your Texas medical marijuana card is perhaps the first step. Unfortunately, Elevate Holistics doesn’t currently offer medical marijuana services in Texas, but we’re working on changing that in the future. For now, you can get familiar with the processes and find the best MMJ doctor for you.