Posted on

what is the punishment for growing weed

The sentencing range for marijuana cultivation is up to three years in state prison, up to a $10,000 fine, and probation. If given probation, it is formal probation where the person must report to a probation officer as required. Formal probation is given in cases where the charges and conviction are more serious in nature.

Let’s look at an example of someone who may be charged with marijuana cultivation. A man is found with over 50 marijuana plants growing in his backyard. On the surface, this number of plants would not appear to be solely for personal use. The man lives in the home alone, holds a valid medical marijuana card, and has no prior criminal charges or convictions.

Under the California Health and Safety Code §11358, it unlawful for any person to manufacture or grow marijuana. The law covers any acts associated with the growth or manufacture of marijuana, including cultivating the plants in soil, harvesting the plants, and processing the marijuana.

Qualified Marijuana Defense Attorneys

The marijuana laws in California are complex and you need a solid, professional defense attorney by your side if you are facing marijuana cultivation charges. The criminal defense lawyers at Hoffman & Associates have over 30 years of courtroom experience and have represented hundreds of clients facing offenses related to marijuana in California. Contact us today to schedule a consultation to discuss the facts of your case and learn about your legal rights when it comes to marijuana cultivation.

What is the punishment for growing weed

People who sell marijuana without a license (i.e., on the “black market”) violate Health and Safety Code 11360 HS.

An expungement frees a defendant from many of the hardships associated with a criminal conviction. 8

Cultivation laws call for felony penalties in certain situations. This is when people cultivate more than six plants and:

For information on marijuana cultivation in Nevada and Colorado, please see our articles on:

8.3. Selling marijuana – HS 11360

Authorities cannot conduct a search or take property without a valid search warrant. If no warrant, then they must have a legal excuse for not having one. If the police:

Since the passage of Proposition 64 it is now legal for:

The court is supposed to:

8. Are there related offenses?

California Penal Code 666 PC — more commonly known as “petty theft with a prior” — allows prosecutors to file a petty theft charge as a felony rather than a misdemeanor if the offender has three or more prior theft-related convictions. Historically, only one prior was required to elevate a subsequent petty theft to a .

Examples